A sneak preview of today’s shoot!

Hurrah, just finished an afternoon of shooting in Crystal Palace Park!  Just checked the footage and there should be some good stuff to work with there for the ‘search scenes’ of the documentary.  Here are some screen grabs.

Face Of The Devil Day shoot screenshots

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to do any shooting this week as I’ve got a back injury (some people are saying I’ve cursed myself by doing a documentary on the devil, but that was not the deal I made with him…).  The painkillers I’ve been given have worked wonders, so whether the pain has gone or I simply can’t feel it I don’t know and I’ll probably pay for it all tomorrow, but we got a lot of stuff done in a short amount of time.  Many thanks to Stephen Olson for his creative eye and camera work.  Check him out on http://www.behance.net/monolution.

We shot in the maze, which is the biggest in London, bigger than Hampton Court, and probably also the driest…  I was hoping for some lush vegetation but you could look right through it!  Still, the barren look added to the spookiness which I hope will come through.

We nearly didn’t get to shoot as permission from the council and the park ranger came through at literally the last minute, so as soon as we got the go ahead we packed the camera, mike, props etc and headed out.  Men have entered the maze before only to ask little children to do some special tricks on camera so there is a procedure to follow before they let you in…  I also told them it was for a film called ‘Reflections of the Soul’, for as soon as I say it’s called ‘The Face Of The Devil’ people seem to freak out and don’t want anything to do with it.  Especially churches.  O ye, of little faith!

It was pretty quiet so we could just do our thing, although some unsuspecting people did jump when I suddenly popped up from the bushes in a black cloak with a lantern.  They probably thought it was a Scottish Widows ad.  And there was a guy who used the centre of the maze to propose to his girlfriend…awww!

Then off to the pub for some much deserved grub.  Now I’m gonna pop another pill before the back pain comes back with a vengeance…

Leave a Reply

